|Address: 15-25 Castle Hill Road
Donors: Howard T. Nettleton (1973) & D. Labelle (1996)
Total NFA Acres Preserved: 23 acres
Parking and access: On-street
Trails: Limited - See link for Trail Map
The most spectacular view in Newtown, down to the Flagpole, Trinity Church, Congregational Church and Town Hall.
Panoramic. Majestic view of Newtown Center terminates five miles north on a horizon of rolling hills. Colonial charm
about the view.
Named "Castle Hill" in 1888 for the castle built on the site by Peter Lorrillard Ronald, world traveler and millionaire.
Flanked by two long wings, a center section 110-feet long featured a drive-through carriageway. When Ronald died in
1905, he left the castle to his mistress, but not the means to maintain it. Building deteriorated and was finally
demolished in 1947.
Property extends down to West Street and buffers it. Hilltop and side hill facing east mostly brushy woodland.
Breathtaking sunrises in late fall early winter. Sit on the bench and take in the view.
Directions: From Flag Pole. Turn onto West Street. At bottom of hill bear right onto Castle Hill Road. At top of hill
turn left on to Old Castle Drive and park.
|Taken 11/14/04 looking